I am my own boss. How I manage myself.

no bossIt’s something I’m learning. How I manage myself – as a CEO and entrepreneur. I am my own boss. How do I manage myself? It’s a great question. Here are the ways that I’ve learned to manage myself and make sure I get things done:

 

  1. I wake up early. My goal is to try to be up and workout before my kids are up. Since it’s summertime, the kids wake up between 8:00 and 9:00 am, so I try to start my day by at least 7am. During the school year they are up between 6:30 and 7:00 am, so I try to be up by 5:30 am.  It helps me feel like I got a head start on my day.
  2. I start with something productive. I don’t get on my phone or computer until my workout is in and done. And, instead of checking my emails first thing when I open my computer, I start with the most stressful thing on my to-do list. This helps me feel accomplished and not like I spend all day answering emails.
  3. I try to keep phone calls to a minimum. I’ve never be a fan of talking on the phone but, it’s easy to babble away to my customers and coaches about everything that we have going on and it ends up being counter-productive. I’ve really tried to watch my time on the phone and hangouts so that it gives me time to actually produce work.
  4. I close all social media down. I try (I really do) to ignore Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. during my scheduled productivity time when I’m sitting at my computer and only go on during the allotted 15 minutes morning, noon, and night.
  5. I block out productivity time. Every morning, I look at my to-do list, pick the three most important things that I need to get accomplished for the day, and block out time in my schedule to complete them. This way it’s in the calendar, I am in the mindset of what I’m working on, and I get more done while I’m focused.
  6. I compile my to-do lists at 5pm. Towards the end of my day, I try not to wrap up before taking 20 minutes to compile all of my random notes and to-do lists for the day. This way I make sure that I didn’t forget to send anything out. As I’m compiling the list, I put together my to-do list for the morning. This helps to ensure that I dive right into a productive work day first thing in the morning. It gives me less time to surf the web or my Facebook newsfeed.
  7. I track my goals and realign them weekly. You have to know where you want to go before you can get there. I make it a point to analyze my goals and make sure they are in line with my productivity time each week. Once I know what my goals are I can set my daily, weekly, and monthly to do lists to keep me on track.

What are your tips for managing yourself and your business?

Leave a Reply

